If you have been injured in an auto accident in Orlando, FL, it’s essential to follow a few basic steps in the direct aftermath of the accident. These steps will ensure your safety and improve your chances of pursuing a personal injury claim.
1. Stay at the Scene, Secure Your Physical Safety, and Call the Police/EMTs: If you have been injured in the accident, err on the side of safety and stay put. Florida laws require you to stay at the scene of an accident if possible if the accident caused any injuries or $500 or more in damage. If you or another driver or passenger is injured, remain in place while someone contacts the police/EMTs. Contrary to popular belief, calling 911 improves your chances of making a strong personal injury case. Always cooperate with first responders when they take accident reports.
In some cases, the police will either fail to arrive at the scene of an accident or fail to take a police report. If that is the case, you should file a police report detailing everything you can recall about the accident. This can be completed online and done immediately after the accident.
2. If Possible, Gather Information and Document the Scene: If you can safely get out of your vehicle and move around the accident scene, you should do independent fact-gathering and documentation for your case.
Essential pieces of information to obtain include:
Important things to document (i.e., with your cell phone camera) include:
3. Get Medical Treatment as Soon as Possible: When it comes to auto accidents in Orlando, FL, it is essential both for your health and for your
personal injury case that you get medical attention and treatment immediately. Even if you do not believe you have been badly injured, you
should get checked out by a medical professional as soon as you can after the crash. In many cases, the adrenaline that floods the body and puts it into a state of shock right after a significant accident can mask symptoms of more extensive injuries. Getting medical treatment ensures that these injuries are spotted, even if they do not immediately feel as bad as they are. It also ensures that you are doing your due diligence and getting treatment as soon as possible so that no one can later claim that you weren’t injured or you worsened your injury by not getting medical attention.
Importantly, to receive compensation from your Personal Injury Protection (PIP) policy, Florida State Law requires you to report a medical injury within two weeks (14 days) of the accident. If you’ve gotten into an accident in Orlando, FL, the sooner you report the injury, the better it is for your health and your case. However, the deadline for PIP claims is two weeks.
It is also essential to know that this first medical visit and original diagnosis must be made by a medical doctor (MD), a doctor of osteopathy (DO), a dentist (DMD), or a chiropractor (DC); or treatment can be provided by a hospital or accredited medical facility.
Before or after completing these steps, it is in your best interest to contact an experienced, knowledgeable personal injury attorney specializing in auto accidents. In Orlando, Florida, the auto accident personal injury attorney to call is Attorney Michael Reese at Reese Legal.
The first step after being injured in a car accident in Orlando is to see a doctor immediately, especially if you believe you were injured a result of the automobile accident. In 2013, the laws in Florida were changed and now require that you seek initial medical treatment within 14 days of the accident. There is also a separate requirement that the original diagnosis must be made by a medical doctor (MD), a doctor of osteopathy (DO), a dentist (DMD), or a chiropractor (DC); or treatment was provided at a hospital or a medical facility. You should also report your accident immediately to the police. Many drivers tend to exchange information and then go on their way. It is extremely important that the accident is reported to the police immediately. Read More
Copyright © 2024 The Michael Reese Law Firm - All Rights Reserved.